Call ORCA Prize 2020

Call for nominations extended to January 31st, 2020!
Nominations are invited for the ORCA Prize 2020. Nominations for the ORCA Prize 2020 are received by the Prize Committee till January 31, 2020. This prestigious prize is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of dental caries research.

Only ORCA members can make nominations for the prize but nominees need not be ORCA members. Moreover, there are no restrictions on nominees with respect to age or seniority, and persons who have previously been nominated unsuccessfully can be renominated.

The main qualification is a body of original published work in caries research, but this may be supported by a record of active promotion of caries research in other ways. The chairman of the Prize Committee will be Prof. Jaimy Cury. Each nomination should be supplemented by a “brief statement of the reasons for nomination” (i.e., a suggested citation), a curriculum vitae including a listing of “the body of original published work,” the field(s) in which the nominee predominantly works or worked, and the location where he/she did so.

Please send your nomination to the chairman of the Prize Committee: Prof. Jaimy Cury; e-mail: jcury

2018 Winner: Gerald L. Vogel

ORCAPrize2018_1    ORCAPrize2018_2

Dr Gerald Vogel got a bachelor degree in Chemistry at the University of Wisconsin, in 1965, and later MS (1970) and PhD degrees (1972) in Physical Chemistry at Georgetown University, in Washington DC, United States. Since 1974 he has worked in the Volpe Research Center (former Paffenbarger Research Center) of the American Dental Association Foundation. 

Dr Vogel's research has focused on the ionic composition of the microfluid inside a caries lesion and of plaque fluid. He is responsible for the development or improvement of most techniques used to analyze such small volume samples. More recently, Dr Vogel's research has focused on the enhancement of fluoride effect by additional calcium availability in the oral fluids.

Dr. Vogel has been an active ORCA member for several decades, participating in many of the ORCA congresses throughout the years.

ORCA Prize Past Winners

2019 Not ORCA Prize but Ingve Ericsson Prize was awarded
2018 Gerald L Vogel
2017 Cor van Loveren
2016 Not ORCA Prize but Yngve Ericsson Prize was awarded (link)
2015 Cynthia Pine
2014 David Beighton
2013 Not ORCA Prize but Yngve Ericsson Prize was awarded (link)
2012 Jaime Cury
2011 Peter Shellis
2010 Not ORCA Prize but Yngve Ericsson Prize was awarded (link)

Recipients of the ORCA/Zsolnay Prize

2009 Adrian Lussi
2008 Helen Whelton
2007 George Stookey
2006 Brian Clarkson
2005 Nigel B Pitts
2004 Jorman Tenovuo
2003 Denis O'Mullane
2002 John DB Featherstone
2001 Bente Nyvad
2000 Jaap J ten Bosch

Recipients of the ORCA/Rolex Prize

1999 B. Angmar-Mansson
1998 D. Geddes
1997 W.M. Edgar
1996 A. Rugg-Gunn
1995 H. Luoma
1994 G.N. Jenkins
1993 G. Bowden
1992 G.M. Whitford
1991 P.D. Marsh
1990 K.W. Stephen
1989 C. Dawes
1988 O. Fejerskov
1987 J.P. Carlos
1986 J.M. ten Cate
1985 J. Ekstrand
1984 G. Rolla
1983 F. Brudevold
1982 C. Robinson
1981 J. Arends
1980 H. Held
1978 J. Patz
1977 W.H. Bowen
1976 G.S. Ingram
1975 J.A. Beeley
1974 T. Mikx
1973 L.M. Silverstone
1972 B. Guggenheim
1971 C. Cimasoni
1970 J.M. Birkeland
1969 Y. Ericsson
1968 J.A. Weatherell
1967 S.A. Leach, W.G. Armstrong
1966 A. Boyde, T.M. Marthaler
1965 J.E. Eastoe
1964 K.G. König, H. Schule, R.J. Gibbons